The bow in her hair is by fashion designer Samantha Sultana.

SAMANTHA SULTANA IS PACKING HER RUNWAY SHOE DESIGNS AND ACCESSORIES FOR PARIS FASHION WEEK.



Melbourne fashion designer Samantha Sultana is going to parade her products as part of Paris Fashion Week, and we are sending her off with a pretty good gala fundraiser.

On Sunday 29 August The Workers Club will host Simon Cleary, Ms Wainwright, Tim Woods & The Dirty Shoes, Fiona Claire, Marc Deez, 12 Inch Clocks, Bish Bash Bosh and Austin Floyd in an afternoon of music, farewell kisses and fashionable people wishing to support our girl overseas.

Though Samantha Sultana has been warmly adopted by clients such as Courtney Love and Fergie of The Black Eyed Peas, many in hometown may not know her name outside the fashion world.

They could have seen hair clips or accessories on people during the Melbourne Cup Spring Racing Coverage (Channel 7), on Channel 10 News (featured as “Hot New Pick”) or even on the soapie Neighbours, but what they don’t know is that Samantha Sultana is loved by so many names, and has already be featured as part of LA Fashion Week.

Samantha Sultana was seen in episodes of a US reality television show called ‘Bikini or Bust’ that had documented the story of Hollywood bikini designer Ashley Paige.

Kelly Osbourne, Gwen Stefani, Holly Valance, Nic Cester (JET), Priscilla Presley, Christina Aguilera, Katy Perry, DJ Space Cowboy, Lee Rocker of The Stray Cats, Taylor Swift and Carole King have all worn Samantha Sultana designs; and said good things about her work.

Samantha Sultana has even made costume pieces for P!NK that were seen as part of her Fun House Australian tour DVD.

In America she has also been seen on The Teen Choice Awards, Entertainment Tonight and Gossip Girl.

Before the local from the outer suburbs Samantha Sultana returns briefly to LA to make shoes, and put together her collection in time for Paris Fashion Week; she needs you to come to the event and meet her in person.

This night will also be the launch on Kiss Cancer Goodbye charity where proceeds from kisses will go to the Anti Cancer Council.

Come along and watch the bands, bid for something in the Fundraising Auction or donate a ‘Kiss for Cancer’, either way be there to toast Samantha Sultana before she jets off down the runway.

THE GOOD PEOPLE OF MELBOURNE  and GORGEOUS FRIENDS present PARIS IS CALLING: SAMANTHA SULTANA FUNDRAISER featuring SIMON CLEARY + MRS WAINWRIGHT + TIM WOODS & DIRTY SHOES + AUSTIN FLOYD + 12 INCH CLOCKS + MARC DEEZ + FIONA CLAIRE + BISH BOSH BASH + QUALITY FUNDRAISER AUCTION + RAFFLE + KISS ME GOOD CHARITY LAUNCH + BEST DRESSED DOOR PRIZE on SUNDAY 29 AUGUST at THE WORKERS CLUB 51 Brunswick St Fitzroy 3065, from 4PM to midnight, it will be $20 entry.


In this Black Eyed Peas clip for Don’t Lie Fergie wears a Samantha Sultana piece of a long string of pearl beads.

This is a Samantha Sultana designed handmade headpiece given to me for helping out on the fundraiser along with a bunch of orange roses. I wore it for the first time on Election day 21/8/10 at Brunswick Dawson Street – one of the busiest booths in Melbourne; with a steady flow of voters waiting in line 30 minutes to vote! From the polling booth it was found that the peacock feathers resonated well with young female children, and female voters aged 18 – 35. Males seemed to smile, but be unable to comment or vote positively due to embarrassment or other reasons. One male aged 35-50 commented that I was ‘very attracting’ and stared at the peacock feathers as though they were eyes, most other decided to ignore the decoration.
I also found that election day is a great occasion to trial fashion costumes as you get a range of receptions from different demographics, and are well seen by thousands of people. Election day is a good day to ‘wear the peacock feather’ even if you are not a politician.

I look forward to the fashion on the field during the state election in November, no doubt it will stand out better on the day compared to the racehorses.

I have just found out that this Peacock Feather piece was also worn by Kelly Osborne.




From Bathers On The Beach:

Suitcase Clothes

by Alicia Bee ©

I’m putting all my best clothes in a suitcase,

I’m wearing my fashion in another place,

Leaving on a jet plane on the runaway,

These people have never seen my hair or face,

I’m willing to get lost desert island pace,

I’m putting all my best clothes in a suitcase.

I’m not going to getaway to outer space,

Feeling like a criminal on the run chase,

I wanted a new park overseas to play,

Leaving these party people without a trace,

A long weekend then I’m leaving on Tuesday,

The sexual history I have to erase,

I’m wearing my fashion in another place.

I’m looking for a new town to set up base,

This friendly city is where I’ll stop to stay,

I’m wearing my fashion in another place,

I’m putting all my best clothes in a suitcase.

END.



