‘Rainbow over Honolulu’, Honolulu, June 30 2010, photo by Alicia Bee.

PUBLIC SPEECH – EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION

One of the first times I saw Northcote was the opening of ‘Dazed and Confused’ movie in 1994 at the Westgarth Theatre, for which my teenager senior citizen status had secured Free tickets via the RRR subscriber competition prizes.

The lesson here was that I didn’t even really win, the tickets had gone to someone else but they had just given me them in plight of my teenage ‘cause.

It was my first entrance in a special world of complimentary tickets that would serve me to retirement.

In my early childhood I learnt a number or tricks to get through the door, and some of those were learnt whilst obtaining my high school education.

This is how I got the my first COMPLIMENTARY TICKETS by asking;

  1. I was a subscriber to RRR and already showed support.
  2. I stayed home from high school to listen to the radio to win tickets, and that dedication showed maturity of life decisions.
  3. I explained that I was a ‘senior’ like in the ‘Dazed in Confused’ story and that it was ‘spiritually important’ for me to go whilst finishing high school.
  4. I also noted that the movie was set near my birthday in May, and I needed the tickets as birthday present.

I have found the third and fourth reasons to have been used safely to secure complimentary tickets and other discounts on many occasions over the years since 1994 and advise them anyone who doesn’t have the ways or means to get a wrist in the door.

Please note when using Reason 3, make sure you are honest in your ‘spiritual need’ to go to the event because you should never lie or you many ruin the whole show for everyone.

Nowadays Reason 1 is replaced with ‘I have been a volunteer at RRR and presenter at the station’; while my name and good work is known by many bookers, promoters, bands and others in the Melbourne Arts community; so I just have to call and ask nicely in a needy voice when desperate [Reason 3].

I have also been very lucky to have milked Reason 4 so many times that everyone in town may know my birthday falls at the end of May.

Dazed and Confused was my early childhood birthday present.

The rest of my early childhood education in Northcote surrounded a group of creative people who lived on Mitchell Street. If you were a local and remember a mock nuclear waste transporter parked on the road, then you may be familiar with the house or the types of parties held in the big vegetable patch suburb.

During the years I learnt how to return to Northcote from various live music venues over Melbourne via Taxi, cars and on the back of bicycles after hours.

I learnt about public transport and a new roadsign called ‘Clearway’, for had never known parking restrictions.

In my early childhood of the late nineties I became aware of the Northcote art scene via Synergy Gallery on High street, had breakfasts at Wesley Anne, and even remember gigs at The Commercial Hotel (now The Northcote Social Club).

I was once a model in the Northcote High Vibes Fashion Parade because the designer was a friend, and was seen in a revealing costume.

Then I learnt how Northcote was becoming gentrified, and how artist space was frequently being moved further away from the city.

During those early childhood days I still vowed never to go North of Drum Tek

instrument shop on High Street, and only once ventured further to go to Centrelink.

Separation Street was a line of poetry already written by the artistic community that came long before the Dazed and Confused era children were born.

My life was still east of Melbourne and centred in Richmond, spending equal time North and South aswell as championing the start of a new a venue in Belgrave called The Lazy River (which would later become Ruby’s).

That was my early childhood education in Northcote before reaching a lazy maturity level that set up foundations in the real senior citizens suburbs of Brunswick.

Though I did go to St Kilda on Wednesday, it was too hard to make it across when a friend’s band SLACQUER got a surprise gig there on Friday.

In the end with tiredness I did not attend though may have looked like a more positive audience member on the Facebook event invite, and it is still important to support your friends in bands when they get a good gig.

I stayed at home with my art friends and ate healthy after tasting wine on the Yarra at the end of the Melbourne International Arts Festival and viewing so much art by Bill Viola.

PUBLICATION – BATHERS ON THE BEACH

FREELANCE JOURNALIST ALICIA BEE LAUNCHES DHARMA BUM POETRY BOOK.

Originally meant to be a fanzine style print for her friends; BATHERS ON THE BEACH turned into a publication with launch event and appropriate announcement.

Bathers On The Beach by Alicia Bee is a self published book of simple poems to be launched Saturday 30 October; at Brunswick Bound on 361 Sydney Road in Brunswick, between 3:30 and 6pm.

Alicia Bee is a Melbourne journalist who freelances to write about music, and non-fiction subjects.

This year Alicia went to Hawaii for a holiday, and wrote about her experiences; these works diarise a portion of poetry during Winter 2010.

For the first time Alicia discusses her own physical scars as she compares herself to the world stage at another classic beach destination.

It is here in these ‘on the road’ stories that Alicia prides herself as rebirthing her dharma bum title; by writing about Buddhism and unemployed mermaids with purpose.

Bathers On The Beach is her first collection of poems, which covers issues of body image and happiness; amongst themes of clothing, planes, oceans, rabbits, music, and mud.

Take your ballerina shoes and gumboots for the steep track to and from the beach, as you read Alicia Bee’s first poetry publication this summer.

MY NAME IS ALICIA presents BATHERS ON THE BEACH by ALICIA BEE [book launch] featuring HAWAIIAN MUSIC + POETRY READINGS on SATURDAY 30 OCTOBER at BRUNSWICK BOUND BOOKSHOP 361 SYDNEY ROAD BRUNSWICK 3056 from 3:30 – 6PM, book $20.

FACEBOOK EVENT : http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=146119788765003&ref=mf

POPULAR MUSIC – FIONA L MAYNARD

FIONA L MAYNARD is a huge supporter of this MISS PIGGY JOURNALIST blog and reads it on a weekly basis when others don’t find the time.

You can read her comments below the page on earlier WEEKLY EDITIONS.

Just before FIONA went into JD Soundworx studio to listen to mixes of what is an album in the making (though due to costs has been downsized to 2 consecutive Eps) she wrote to tell MISS PIGGY JOURNALIST all about it.

The first installment of the new recordings are merely weeks away now.

News is that these will be called ‘Stiletto Survival’ and features 5 songs; Angels, On The Road To Vegas, Opened The Door, Snowball & Biggest Bitch though the actual track listing may be subject to change.

According to FIONA the latest recording will include;

“James Lomas on guitar (we’ve made music for the past 18 years together in bands In Vivo, Tijuana Souvenirs, Lowdown Dirty Shames & other duo projects, James is also my husband),

Emma Rodda on violin (Emma & I have played music together for 12 years, in a duo called Femme Royale, Emma is VCA graduate, concert violinist and violin teacher, and has played in everything from symphonys to celtic cover bands)

Reave Maloney on 5 string bass, double bass & bowed double bass (Reave is VCA graduate, bass teacher & has played in many bands with eclectic grooves from reggae to jazz & classical),

Jim Moody on drums, (Jim has a long history with funk & jazz bands & I’ve borrowed him from James’ band Lowdown Dirty Shames as he has the best feel of just about any drummer I’ve ever heard),

I completed all pre-production on my home studio, over the past 12 months, using drum loops & playing every instrument until I felt the song would translate, then as I prefer to work in a team than all by myself, called in my friends to let the magic between a group of musicians gather,

When it came to singing lead vocals over the beautiful musical beds provided, I was so inspired I sang all 5 songs parts in 2 hours, 3 songs were recorded straight through first take, and 2 were nailed on the second pass!”

Here FIONA L MAYNARD discusses the bands she played in during her early childhood education in the Nineties bandscene.

ALICIA BEE – How did you meet those talented people? Can you remember the gig / place where you first met your husband and bandmate James Lomas?

FIONA L. MAYNARD – I met James Lomas nearly 20 years ago, through my younger brother Glenn Maynard. (At the time Glenn was drumming with me in Have A Nice Day.) James came to a Have A Nice Day rehearsal to pick up a Nursery Crimes CD as he was going for an audition to play guitar for Nursery Crimes. I’d been feuding with HAND guitarist Marc (live in partner at the time) as was often the case, but when James knocked politely on the rehearsal room door & came in, he gave me a smile that melted all my anger away. I called David Dixon (or maybe it was Phil) from Nursery Crimes that night to recommend him on cuteness factor alone!

The first time I actually heard James play guitar was about 6 – 8 months later, he had split up with his girlfriend & I had split up with Marc. After a night of Romance, he pulled out his guitar and played a classical guitar piece before he left for work at the Dunlop factory. It blew my mind, his playing was effortless and beautiful and precise, even that long ago, I remember thinking to myself, “If he can play that, he can play anything!”

Since then James & I have played in many different forms together; we recorded with Johnette Napolitano in LA (Concrete Blonde) as In Vivo, played together in Tijuana Souvenirs, The Last Call & in The Lowdown Dirty Shames, as well as at several of our friends’ weddings, and as a duo. It was whilst we were playing as a duo together at The Greyhound Hotel in 1998 that we met the amazing Emma Rodda, she was playing in a duo called Shade. Emma’s playing is spirited and I fell in love with her sound at first listen, she has a wonderful ability to improvise, and has an extensive vocabulary with all genres of music. Emma and I had our first daughters within a year of each other, and when they would play together, we would play music together, this is what started Femme Royale. We loved to get gigs because that was the time when the kids weren’t there to interrupt the songs!

Emma & partner, Reave Maloney recently moved residence very close to James & I, our daughters now attend the same school, we share pick up times and during one of these times, Reave showed me his new 5-string bass,  I was aware that he could play double bass and when I learned he could play it with a bow, I gave him a copy of my demo and asked if he would like to participate! Reave was studious and enthused to me about my songs and the grooves, we spoke of our mutual love of reggae & I knew he was the perfect bass fit. It’s very difficult for me, as a long term bass player (nearly 30 years as a bass player) to give that role up, but Reave has played such amazing bass lines on the recordings I am absolutely enamoured with my decision to surrender the 4 (or 5-string) duties!

Jim Moody, on drums was the final piece in place. I have poached him from James’ band Lowdown Dirty Shames. James assembled his current band Lowdown Dirty Shames in May this year,he found Jim Moody through an ad Jim had placed looking for more musicians to play with. Jim has an amazing song sensitivity, a wide range of feels and his style of drumming is completely compatible with my songs and the music we have all made together.

ALICIA BEE – Have you ever broken a high heel stiletto at a gig?

FIONA L. MAYNARD – In the mid 80’s I played in a band with my friends from High School called Earwigs U.P, the keyboard player Rebecca & I used to wear black patent leather stiletto heels…I was at least 9 kilos heavier with a Fender P bass around my neck which required some extreme balancing skills when wearing these heels. However, there was an incident after a few too many free beers from the rider,involving a high kick and balancing on one leg with the bass around my neck, that snapped off one heel completely, and sent me toppling into the drum kit. From then on, I resolved to wear flats and did so for several years, yet as I became braver again, I do a series of tests on my heels before stepping onto stage with a guitar, akin to a road worthy test. I don’t like falling down, but I like falling down in public on stage even less!! If my heels start to feel wobbly on stage I have been known to kick them off between songs & play in my pantyhose.

The Fiona Lee Maynard Trio play Spensers Live with B!G (Brendan Gallagher (Karma County) & John Boy Bliss (The Reels)) on Sunday 31st Oct at 8pm.

POPULAR MUSIC – PHILADELPHIA GRAND JURY

When Philadelphia Grand Jury were sent these questions they didn’t know who I was, and perhaps though of me as teenage or younger female fumbling her foot through the half open door of music writing.

As much as my early childhood education in journalism learnt quickly from basic questions such as ‘What does your band name mean?’ I really feel evolved now as a paid journalist enough to ask about the possible interpretation of the bandname acronyms in the online environment, though my experience was not known by my interviewees.

When I grow up people should know Miss Piggy Journalist is a trusted voice of credibility, though at the moment she is only ELEVEN weeks old and may appear teenage naive with the unmarried title of ‘MISS’.

[How exciting I am MISS ELEVEN! Note ; I cant wait till next year when its 11/11/11]

Here Alicia Bee exchanges questions with Philadelphia Grand Jury’s MC Bad Genius who provides some hard interview question back for the blog.

ALICIA BEE – I think I might use Philadelphia Grand Jury throughout this story because PGJ looks like a children’s rating, has there been many confusions online with your acronym? I had to stare at it for a while to see what it means.

MC BAD GENIUS – No-one has ever asked us that before, so I’m not sure if it has caused anyone else any confusion.  It does look like a content rating now that you mention it though, but what the rating actually would be isn’t so clear to me right now.

ALICIA BEE – perhaps Parental Guidance (for) Juveniles?

ALICIA BEE – You are presently in London playing shows. What is your London link?  Why do you have studio there? What is your favorite place to go to when in the Motherland? Where should an Australian go if they’ve never been to London?

MC BAD GENIUS – We don’t really have any proper links in London except that there were a couple of singles labels over here that wanted to help us put out our music in England. So rather than just doing that, we thought it made more sense to move across the world and help them help us. Something like that anyways. And once we decided that we were going to tour all around the UK, we decided it would be fun to ship all our studio equipment over and set up shop to record our next album while we’re here.

London is such a big, crazy place that we haven’t really been able to find everything that is meant to be cool. My favorite thing to do is to ride across the Tower Bridge, which is happily on the way from our house to the studio space, so I’ve had lots of chances to indulge. But for everyone’s sake, don’t step foot in a Walkabout Pub. It’s just not cool.

ALICIA BEE – Is that a Fireball on the Australian Tour Poster? A meteor? Why is it there? May I repost the poster in the blog, I like it?  Do you like volcanoes?  I am really into them and the ‘ring of fire’ lately.  Do you know what that is?  What do you know about the science of fire?

MC BAD GENIUS – Wow.  That’s a lot of questions all at once, but I’ll try to answer them all in order.  No.  Yes.  It’s something to do with graphic design and a conceptual take on Save Our Town, where it could be construed that we have to save our town from an impending meteor strike, even though there is no mention of a meteor in the song at all.  Yes.  Definitely yes.  If you mean the ring around the Pacific rim where there is the highest proportion of seismological activity in the world, then yes.  I don’t know much else, about it but that’s what I learnt when we stumbled across the Museum of Natural History yesterday (which incidentally isn’t on my suggestion list for things people should do in London).

ALICIA BEE – What does Save Our Town mean?

MC BAD GENIUS – Berkfinger never explicitly tells me what any of the songs are about, but I’m smart enough to piece most of it together.  This one is basically lamenting the fact that all around the world (but particularly in Sydney), lots of really cool stuff is getting screwed over and closing down, but no-one seems to be doing anything about it.  Added into that is the related metaphor about a broken relationship, which is pretty much included in all of our songs.

ALICIA BEE – How long are your leads? Have you had many problems jumping off stage?  Where did you see that move first?  How did it evolve into your live act?

MC BAD GENIUS – We just like to engage people directly rather than have an invisible (or sometimes visible) barrier between us on stage and the crowd.  I don’t think there has ever been any problems when we’ve ended up in the crowd.  Sometimes people get hurt by things falling or swinging into them, but every time they don’t care and just want to have a photo afterward.  I gave a guy in Melbourne a huge lump on his head with my bass and he’s probably been to more of our gigs now than anyone else.  Sometimes the lead breaks of comes out of the amp, but that all just adds to the spectacle.

ALICIA BEE – I had to listen to ‘I’m Going to Kill You’ wondering if it were safe.  Do you think you can sing any lyric in a playful or a pop punk tone? What new lyrics are you working on that you could launch here? you should tell them you are PG – J (Jury? hmm?)

MC BAD GENIUS – There is nothing unsafe about the song.  It’s all based on a dream that Berkfinger had and while its quite macabre, it definitely doesn’t indicate that he is capable of murder.  At least not that I’m aware of.  But that’s the beauty of music right there.  You can sing things that you could never possibly say and instead of people being shocked, they just nod their heads, dance around and yell the words back to you as you’re singing them.

ALICIA BEE – I love the word good, I would have said that to you.  I name everything I do ‘good’.  Does ‘The Good News’ try and reverse the attitudes towards misreading ‘I’m Going to Kill You’?

MC BAD GENIUS – Well it’s not a particularly happy song either to be honest.  It’s all about heartbreak and waiting for the love that just left to come back, even though you know deep-down that you’re not coming back.  In fact, calling it ‘The Good News’ is quite misleading, because its not very good at all.

ALICIA BEE – How many t-shirts to you bring on tour?  What would be your normal suitcase list be?

MC BAD GENIUS – I’ve been getting into wearing shirts a lot more than t-shirts lately, but that might also be because I really need to do a load of washing.  I normally forget at least a few essential items when we go on tour, so we have to find an op shop near where we’re playing to stock up before the show starts.  But I try to make sure I never leave home without enough pairs of fresh socks.  Although its not pleasant, you can reuse shirts, pants and underwear.  But not socks.  Never ever

ALICIA BEE – Please ask me some questions.

MC BAD GENIUS – How long have you been writing a blog?

ALICIA BEE – I just started this blog the week of the Federal Election.

MC BAD GENIUS – Do you want to be a journalist or a writer, or do you just do it as a hobby?

ALICIA BEE – I am a freelance journalist normally, the blog is just an online outlet for extra interviews.

MC BAD GENIUS – If you had to choose between being a journalist or a writer, which one would it be?

ALICIA BEE – I am doing both, so I cant separate. Though journalism may be more of a money earner than selling books.

I am also a writer and am printing and launching my first poetry book this week. And I have a non-fiction book about a murder that is in the writing process.

MC BAD GENIUS – The funnest thing we’ve ever done on tour is go to Wet’n’Wild.  It was really awesome.  Do you like water parks?

ALICIA BEE – I like dugongs, and dolphins and whales, and it is nice to see them in Aquariums because I don’t dive and can’t experience seeing them swimming any other way.

I do think they are cruel, and think it’s mean that countries just take wildlife from the oceans around them for these sorts of things, viewing them in these places is a mix of wonder and sadness.

I actually haven’t been to a water park, but grew up near Emerald Lake in Melbourne where they have a waterslide and paddleboats.

My first experience of any sort would be the Melbourne Aquarium, where my friend took me with her toddler a few years ago.

I was a bit more amazed than the child though. The funniest thing was watching the diver swim in to feed the sharks because he looked so out of place.

MC BAD GENIUS – When we’re in the tour van for hours and hours per day, I like to dream about being on an island in one of those huts that are built out over the water.  Where do you dream of when you want to get away?

ALICIA BEE – When I want to go away I often think about my last holiday as the hotels often leave a grounding stable memory. Lately I have had a few dreams of being back in Hawaii.

Often I imagine Eastern beaches in Victoria and want to go there during the day when daydreaming.

Funnily when I am overseas I often dream about being in Melbourne or even walking around in the Dandenong Ranges! And this can be scary when waking and finding that I am quite far from home as I feel jerked back to reality.

MC BAD GENIUS – What’s your favourite album of all time?  Don’t whinge about how hard it is to choose an all-time favourite and don’t cop out by choosing more than one or a compilation album. It’s meant to be a hard question.  Just give a simple answer.

ALICIA BEE – One favorite album story is JON & VANGELIS FRIENDS OF MR CAIRO.

MC BAD GENIUS – What do you know about the science of fire?

ALICIA BEE – I have been learning more about volcanoes since Hawaii.

MC BAD GENIUS – What would you suggest to be the one thing we should make sure we do while we’re back in Australia over the Summer?

ALICIA BEE – You should go to a beach, any one around the island where ever you are, and spend a full day without thinking of anything but listening, tasting the salt, feeling the sand on your skin and being moved by the waves.

No-one should holiday in Australia without spending time at the beach.

MC BAD GENIUS – A/S/L?

ALICIA BEE – I am guessing you mean AVERAGE / SMALL / LARGE because you want to give me a Philadelphia Grand Jury merchandise Tshirt?

I pick XXL because I like to wear them as a dress, and often give them to my large father who wears them to work, so the size accommodates the needs of both of us.

XS t-shirts are so Nineties. I am no longer in my early childhood and am a big girl now!

SAVE OUR TOWN AUSTRALIAN TOUR

Supported by Howl and Bearhug. *Bearhug not appearing

THU 4 NOV – REPUBLIC BAR, HOBART *

FRI 5 NOV – HOTEL NEW YORK, LAUNCESTON  *

SAT 6 NOV – CORNER HOTEL, MELBOURNE

THU 11 NOV – BAROQUE, KATOOMBA

FRI 12 NOV – CAMBRIDGE HOTEL, NEWCASTLE

SAT 13 NOV – METRO THEATRE, SYDNEY (ALL AGES)

THU 18 NOV – BEACH HOTEL, BYRON BAY

FRI 19 NOV – HI FI, BRISBANE

SAT 20 NOV – FULL NOISE, TOWNSVILLE (PGJ ONLY)

THU 25 NOV – BEACHCOMBER HOTEL, CENTRAL COAST

FRI 26 NOV – ANU BAR, CANBERRA

SAT 27 NOV – NEWTON’S NATION, BATHURST (PGJ ONLY)

WED 1 DEC – HIGH ROAD, RIVERTON *

THUR 2 DEC – PRINCE OF WALES, BUNBURY *

FRI 3 DEC – CAPITOL, PERTH *

SAT 4 DEC – SETTLERS, MARGARET RIVER *

SUN 5 DEC – NEWPORT HOTEL, FREMANTLE *

WED 8 DEC – LEVEL ONE, GEELONG

THU 9 DEC – KAROVA LOUNGE, BALLARAT

FRI 10 DEC– THE GOV, ADELAIDE  (ALL AGES

SAT 11 DEC – SANDBAR, MILDURA

THU 16 DEC – CARINGBAH BIZZOS, CARINGBAH

FRI 17 DEC – MONA VALE HOTEL, MONA VALE

SAT 18 DEC – GRAND HOTEL, WOLLONGONG

FRI 31 DEC – PYRAMID FESTIVAL, PHILLIP ISLAND (PGJ ONLY)

PUBLIC SERVANT FACTORY – STEVE MORAN LIBERAL FOR NORTHCOTE

First up for Northcote is the Hot Little Hands lover Liberal STEVE MORAN who though big on development promises that community consultation is still very important. We chatted online about our early childhood and Northcote clearways.

ALICIA BEE – How important is early childhood education?

STEVE MORAN – Kindergarten is a very important part of education. It is the first step into the wide world without our parents. It is not only a great chance to start learning about our community and history but also to have a lot of fun.

ALICIA BEE – What do you remember about your own early childhood education?

STEVE MORAN – I still have many fond memories of kinder and think the experience was very valuable.

I remember playing a sheep in the nativity play and making all sorts of things.

ALICIA BEE – What types of things do you think children should be learning at toddler age? eg languages, indigenous education, writing, computers?

STEVE MORAN – I think the great value children get out of kindergarten is the social skills and the exposure they get to the wider world beyond their own family lives. It is great to introduce them to the history, culture and diversity of our community.

Kinder should be a fun experience where kids can use their imaginations and start communicating their ideas to others and get a chance to try their hand at art, making a star for the Christmas tree and playing with other kids.

ALICIA BEE – What are The Liberal’s policies on early childhood education?

STEVE MORAN – The Liberal Party has always been a strong supporter of kindergarten and early childhood education. Ted Baillieu announced at the last election that we would reinstate free kinder for all 4 year olds in Victoria. We were pleased that after the election Labor adopted our policy.

Wendy Lovell the Liberal Shadow Minister for Children and Early Childhood Development will be announcing our policy in detail very soon.

We will be supporting kindergartens by making sure that enough kindergarten teachers are trained and that they have the facilities and resources to teach their students effectively.

ALICIA BEE – How many government funded kindergartens are there in Northcote?

STEVE MORAN – There are 11 government funded kindergartens in the Northcote electorate.

ALICIA BEE – Is there enough space for people in those areas?

STEVE MORAN – There is a critical shortage of kindergarten places in the inner northern suburbs as there is across the state. I know of many parents who are very worried about their children’s education when they can’t get into a kindergarten or the disruption caused to the child when they are forced to move kinders after 3 year old kinder because there is not a place for them in the 4 year old program.

Labor took on our policy of providing free 4 year old kinder for all children but they have not backed it up with the classrooms and teachers that are needed for our growing population.

Many parents have turned to private kindergartens when they can’t get a place at to make sure their children get a good start to their education. But the children whose parents can’t afford to pay the extra are missing out and that is not good enough.

ALICIA BEE – What about childcare centres? What has happened since the ABC centres closed down?

STEVE MORAN – There are a number of private child care centres in the Northcote electorate. The ABC centres did provide a fantastic service to working parents and it was unfortunate that this business wasn’t able to keep going. It was great that a number of not for profit organisations moved into the ABC facilities and were able to provide high quality child care. One of these centres in Northcote was closed this month and the land will be used for a different purpose. This caused great stress for many parents trying to find a new place for their children with only a few weeks notice. When the shortage of places is as critical as it has been allowed to get parents have nowhere to turn.

ALICIA BEE – If you stand on southern High Street you can see a different view of the Melbourne skyline developments, Northcote residents are well aware of how fast buildings can change the shape of the city; but can they see what going on further down high street? What new buildings have come up in the last 4 years? What projects are planned?

STEVE MORAN – Residents of Northcote, Fairfield, Alphington, Thornbury and Preston are well aware of how buildings can change their street and how extra people put more pressure on the local infrastructure.

There have been many new developments in the area in the last few years and many more are either in construction or are planned.

I am very concerned that residents are losing their rights in local planning decisions. The State Labor government has made it the norm to bulldoze over residents and tell them this is what they are getting like it or not.

High rises up to 9 storeys have been approved and built in Northcote without any regard for existing residents, this is unfair and unacceptable.

Local residents have made this area great, they need to have their say in local planning decisions and the government needs to help them solve their problems and provide the infrastructure to support the population. The government should not impose unreasonable development on them and walk away without a second thought.

ALICIA BEE – What is your opinion of Northcote developments for growth and residential areas?

STEVE MORAN – Housing is another area in critical shortage in Victoria. As the old brick makers, tanneries and shoe factories that set up business in Northcote when Melbourne was getting established move out land is becoming available and there are opportunities for development to help relieve the housing shortage. I welcome reasonable development and would encourage investment in our area. However, if I were the representative for Northcote I would make sure that locals get their say and their concerns are acted on and I would make sure that public services keep up with the growing population.

ALICIA BEE – What was the last music act you saw in Northcote?

STEVE MORAN – Hot Little Hands at Northcote Social Club

ALICIA BEE – Where is your favourite eating place?

STEVE MORAN – That really depends, there are so many and they are all great.

For Breakfast I love Palomino and think Gypsy Hangout in Westgarth is a welcome new addition to the cafe scene, there are many others, Breakfast Club, Mixed Business, Bean Counter and Red Door who all have a great product and atmosphere.

There is no doubt in my mind that Mein Liebe is the best pizza in Melbourne. I can’t split Curry Masala and Curry Cafe for Indian, Sukumvit Thai Pad Tom Yum is very tasty and Otsumami is always great. I also like Next Door on St George’s Rd and Chowhound is great fun with one of the most varied menus I’ve seen. Fish Rock does a delicious piece of grilled fish…

Don’t ask me to narrow it down anymore than that, I love the diversity of Northcote’s cafes and restaurants and they are a major reason why my wife and I love living here so much.

ALICIA BEE – What is another place in Northcote that you like going to for entertainment?

STEVE MORAN – I’m a member of the Movie Club down at Westgarth Cinema, we also get to Arts Project Australia occasionally and have seen lots of amateur theatre at Northcote Town Hall. There is always something to do in Northcote and I intend to take advantage of it in the years to come.

ALICIA BEE – What is Northcote’s biggest asset?

STEVE MORAN – There is no doubt that is its people and diversity.

ALICIA BEE – Have you caught Public Transport around Northcote?

STEVE MORAN – I catch public transport to work every day and use the trams and trains all the time.

ALICIA BEE – What is your opinion on Northcote parking clearways on High Street? Would you extend them?

STEVE MORAN – I can’t see the logic of reducing the speed limit on High Street to 40, planning to put in tram stops that cut traffic down to one lane anyway and then imposing a clearway. I would not extend the clearways and in fact since we need to provide disabled access to trams on High Street traffic will be cut to one lane anyway. I would advocate taking the clear way out at all times to help local businesses and make it easy for locals to get to them.

ALICIA BEE – Have you ever bought clothes in Northcote?

STEVE MORAN – Yes

ALICIA BEE – Have you been to the mental illness opportunity shop on High Street?

STEVE MORAN – I have been in; we recently bought a stem vase there.

I was at the Open Mind Fiesta on Station Street run by Mental Illness Fellowship Victoria on Sunday. It was a great event and the Foundation does a great job building awareness of mental illness and helping those who suffer a mental illness.

ALICIA BEE – What is one of your favourite hobbies? how often do you do that?

STEVE MORAN – I like working with wood. I don’t do it very often but I have made a few things around the house like a cover for our air conditioning unit and some bird boxes for my parents house in Taggerty.

ALICIA BEE – Do you do any art? languages?

STEVE MORAN – I would not presume to call myself an artist. I did study Chinese in Year 12.

ALICIA BEE – If you were not doing politics what would you do? where would you live?

STEVE MORAN – I work as a Structural Engineer now and find working in the construction industry very satisfying. Engineering and infrastructure are my passions and I will always try to make a contribution in these areas.

My wife and I have made our life in Northcote and love it here. We intend to stay around here for a long time.

ALICIA BEE – what is your favourite foreign country destination?

STEVE MORAN – I love to travel and love the different experiences you get in the different places around the world including in Australia. I can’t say I have a favourite destination but I hope to keep having new experiences and maybe one day I will know.

ALICIA BEE – where was the last place you visited on holiday?

STEVE MORAN – We recently travelled to the U.S. New York, Boston and the Californian coast. Fantastic cities and beautiful scenery.

ALICIA BEE – what was the last book you have read?

STEVE MORAN – Ghost Writer

POETASTER

Ward 3 East Angliss

By Alicia Bee

Babes born tired souls not yet broken,

Lashes from eyes open now dawn woken,

It is colder living on the outside

This is the real world bub, no-one’s joking,

Drums pound the tone of chants with all spoken,

Babes born tired souls not yet broken.

Models making smiles for flashes noting,

Stillness saliva stares between floating,

You can work it all out now if you tried,

Consciousness comes earlier than voting,

They will strap you in for the bumpy ride,

Life on earth is not gentle sea boating,

Lashes from eyes open now dawn woken.

Eat your fill child, save from bloating,

In dreams you remember wings that have flied,

Lashes from eyes open now dawn woken,

Babes born tired souls not yet broken.

END.

THANKS FOR READING MISS PIGGY JOURNALIST BLOG LIKE EARLY CHILDHOOD EDUCATION.

